Community groups are user-created hubs where members can share interests, coordinate gaming activities and host discussions in group-specific forums.
Tools are also available to group owners and admins, making it possible to control membership, curate content, and manage the privileges available to other members.
Some group features are not available on limited accounts. More details can be found in the Limited Account FAQ.
Once you've decided to create a group, you can begin the process here.
Any unlimited account can own up to 10 groups.
Make sure to decide on a unique name and abbreviation. Group name cannot be changed once the group has been created.
When all members have left a group, the group will automatically be deleted by the system. Groups cannot be manually deleted.
When the current owner leaves the group, the oldest Officer (by join date) will be promoted to owner. If no eligible Officers are available, the oldest Moderator will inherit ownership. If there is no Moderators in the group, the oldest group member will be promoted to owner. The ownership of a group cannot be manually transferred.
There are three types of Steam community groups, each with different membership rules.
You can invite friends to your group directly from their Steam community profile. There is an invite option within the More dropdown button near the top-right.
In order to reduce spam, group invites are limited to friends of the invitee.
Users requesting access to restricted groups will be added to the group's pending request list.
To manage pending group requests, group owners (or officers/moderators if given permission) can find the Manage Group Requests page from their Admin Tools section on the right-hand side of the group page.
If someone has been denied entry into a group, the only way for them to join in the future is to receive an invite from a member who has invite permissions.
There are four levels of membership within each group: Owner, Officer, Moderator and Member.
Each member type has its own unique privileges that can be changed by the group's owner:
Members can be kicked from groups. This will prevent those users from accessing the group in the future without a direct invite from another group member.
Each group has permissions that can be customized for each type of member. You'll want to make sure that you check this page at least once, so that you understand what features are available to your members, officers and moderators.