A trade offer is a prepackaged trade that you can send to a friend. You select the items to trade from your inventory and the items you’d like to receive from your friend's inventory, and send the trade offer. Your friend can then choose to accept, decline, or make a counter offer. Unlike regular Steam Trading, you don't need to both be online at the same time. Plus, trade offers can be sent and received using a web browser.
You can create and send a trade offer from two places: the Trade Offers page within your Inventory or from a friend’s profile.
To send an offer from your Trade Offers page:
To send an offer from a friend's profile:
You'll then need to confirm the trade offer. If you're using a Mobile Authenticator through the Steam Mobile App on your smartphone to protect your account, you can confirm via the app. Otherwise you'll receive a confirmation request via email.
Once you confirm the trade, the offer will be sent.
To ensure that you are in controls of items moving out of your account, trade offers must be confirmed. There is no longer a way to opt out.
You can send trade offers to any of your friends with an Inventory that you can view or anyone who has given you their Unique Trade URL. You can find your own Unique Trade URL on the bottom of your Who can send me Trade Offers? settings page.
Any tradable items in your inventory.
Note that you cannot include Steam Wallet funds in a trade or trade offer. If someone sends you a trade offer claiming to include Steam Wallet funds it may be a scam. You can report scammers using the "Report Violation" link on their profile.
When you receive a trade offer, your mailbox in the top right corner of the Steam interface will turn green. To see the offer, click on the mailbox and select “pending trade offer”. You can also view pending offers and your offer history from the Trade Offers page in your Inventory.
No. Items in a trade offer remain in your inventory until an offer is accepted or cancelled.
Yes. You can send more than one offer containing the same items. When an offer is accepted any other pending offers with the same items will change from pending to inactive and be moved into your Offer History.
If a trade offer contains an item that is traded away or sold on the market, the trade becomes inactive and can no longer be accepted. It will automatically be moved into your Offer History.
The counter offer will be sent back as a new trade offer.
You can cancel a pending offer you've sent from the Sent Offers area of the Trade Offers page.
All trades are final; use the confirmation step to review and make sure you're satisfied with the offer.
Trade offers automatically expire after two weeks. You can find the offer expiration date at the bottom of a pending offer.
You can view your trade history from the Trade Offers page or from the “More” drop down in your Inventory.