Steam Community Groups Overview
Steam Support will not delete, rename, transfer ownership, or modify a group.
Groups are not able to be manually deleted. However, empty groups will be automatically deleted by the system. If you wish to delete a group, everyone must leave the group and it will be removed shortly afterward.
The name of a group is not able to be changed. You will need to create a new group if you desire a different name.
Groups cannot be merged or combined.
The ownership of a group is not able to be manually transfered. However, the oldest Officer (by join date) will be promoted to owner if the current owner leaves the group.
Members can only be removed from Private groups.
There is a new cvar sv_steamgroup, which takes the Steam group number (visible on the group's administrative page). The server will still be part of matchmaking, but users that are in that group will be able to browse directly to it from the main menu. Also, if this value is set, there will be a button near the message of the day which allows users to go directly to that group's page. This allows users to join that group if they like, and then be able to browse back to it in the future.